A Mistaken Child’s Dress

ruffle stripes orange fruit flowers sheath dress hair bun wedge heels pink lipstick

ruffle stripes orange fruit flowers sheath dress hair bun wedge heels pink lipstick

As shown in some previous posts, I like to make my own clothes. For a graduation present, I asked for a dress form to help me make my own patterns. Anyway, this is my latest dress which I even lined (and was a huge pain in my butt!). When I finished it, I took a picture of it on my clothes hanger and sent it to some friends in a group message. Super awkward because they mistook it for a little girl’s dress. I guess when not on, it kind of does look like a dress made for little toddlers. The really short hem line and low back was my compensation for it actually being a dress for me, and not someone fifteen years younger. Who knows, maybe I’m blind to the fact I designed it really frilly and baby-like. But I LIKE it and I made it and I’m proud of my creation. And I guess that’s the only thing that matters, right?

Love, Olivia

PS-Crazy busy week ahead…I’m helping watch two twin baby girls this week along with my usual job at the baseball stadium. I’ll be sure to comment by the end of the week (If I’m not dead by then:P)

ruffle stripes orange fruit flowers sheath dress hair bun wedge heels pink lipstick

ruffle stripes orange fruit flowers sheath dress hair bun wedge heels pink lipstick

Celebration Comment  Topic: Pre-Posting. How often do you take pictures for your outfit posts? Every day or just before you write a post?

ruffle stripes orange fruit flowers sheath dress hair bun wedge heels pink lipstick

 

39 thoughts on “A Mistaken Child’s Dress

  1. I personally love this dress. Are you going to school for fashion? Because part of me thinks you should!
    For pre-posting, I don’t have a concrete process. I have some posts that I do every week (like comments and nails). It’s kind of what I’m in the mood for or have pictures for. Usually I only take pictures on days when I post. And you are seeing what I wore that day. I don’t “dress up” for my blog. It’s my personal style. It feels kind of fake if I don’t post what I wore. I might take off a jacket during the day, but that’s it!

    Theatricality by Mariah

    • Hahah actually funny story: Most of my life, I’ve wanted to go into school for fashion and stuff. But then I went through a phase where I wanted to be a midwife-weird huh? That phase was unfortunately during my college application process. So all of the schools I applied to were nursing programs. Then around April, a month before I had to chose my college, I decided not become a nurse anymore. And now I’m in a liberal arts school and taking a lot of art classes. Hopefully, if I keep up with this blog and with the sewing, that will help me get into the fashion industry. Crossing my fingers!
      Anyway, thank you so much for your thoughts! Always love to hear them:)

  2. Haha awww. I think this look so cute on you, though! I would totally wear something from the section of a store that caters to 13-14 year olds. I really don’t care about much, as long as it fits and looks decent. A friend of mine recently bought the cutest dress from the youth section of a department store. So, don’t worry! It’s OK! 😀

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Feel free to leave a comment or question! All comments mean the world to me so thank you! :)

